The Eastern Nebraska Human Services Agency (ENHSA) was established July 1, 1974 by Cass, Sarpy, Douglas, Dodge and Washington counties in Eastern Nebraska under the Interlocal Agreement Act. The purpose of this cooperative agreement is to promote and maintain the personal growth and autonomy of the citizens who are in need of certain services.

This created a regional administration to provide services which are not or cannot be provided by other organizations. The administrative structure is provided through each member county with one representative from each of the five county boards serving on the agency’s governing board. The Agency serves several thousand individuals including senior citizens, individuals with developmental disabilities or students.